Skip to content

the rules of cancer

December 6, 2010

For whatever reason, when I was first diagnosed with cancer I felt the need to establish a few rules for my behavior during treatment.  This was different then the automatic and obligatory reassessment of lifestyle and diet that all cancer patients go through.  If you don’t know what this is, allow me to explain.  Finding out you have cancer, generally you automatically blame yourself and try to counteract with a huge overhaul of your lifestyle.  This includes but is not limited to starting a macrobiotic/vegan/vegetarian/healthier diet, changing to a deodorant that comes from a crystal (no joke), working out, cutting out anything with any pseudo-sweeteners, cutting out caffeine, etc.  No one of these things are a cancer causing agents (so calm down), but if you’ve ever read any study done by anyone that shows even a fake link between the item and cancer, you cut it out.  The amount of time this lasts of course varies.  For me it depended on the item, but I got over most this pretty quick (crystal deodorant is messy).  No the rules I am speaking of were much more arbitrary then that.

When I look back on it now, I think that it had a lot to do with taking control of something that was completely outside of my control.  On some level I had decided that if I could set and follow a few predetermined rules, I would have a hand in the outcome of my cancer battle.  Almost a superstition, but something a little more structured then that.

The first of these rules was about parking.  At the hospital there are about 5 spots specifically designated for oncology patients.  As soon as I saw them, I knew I could never park in them.  These spots were for real cancer patients.  Those that felt like crap and were getting whipped in their battle with cancer (and chemotherapy).  Since I would never be that person, rule #1 would be that I would never use those spaces.

Rule #2 was created shortly after (maybe during) my first chemo session.  I would never wear sweatpants to chemo.  Some of the outfits that people showed up in were insane!  Cancer does not exempt you from the rules of fashion and the way that many dressed seemed (to me) to reflect on their spirit in the face of their treatment. 

But with the passing of time these rules have seemed a bit less important and maybe even ridiculous.

Immanuel changed the parking assignments and moved the oncology spots back.  Now that they are in spots that had previously been undesignated (and I had used), I have no qualms with parking in them.  Plus, as it turns out I AM a real cancer patient and those spots are meant for US.  The sweatpants rule went out the window as well.  Turns out those people wearing sweats to chemo knew what they were doing.  Sitting for hours on end, hooked to something that makes you more miserable with each minute, why wouldn’t you wear the most comfortable clothing possible?  So I went out and bought “chemo clothes”.  They are still sweats, but something about buying them specifically for chemo makes this okay.  So, fighting spirit fully intact, I sit here with some of the most comfy cozy (and huge) pants I own.

I think that the breaking of these rules has also been a big part of the cancer journey.  When I look at it now I think that they were meant to set me apart from the rest of my reluctant brethren (cancer patients).  But now as I break or blow-off each of the rules, I think I am coming to new levels of acceptance as well. 

I am a cancer patient and I am not alone.

aja

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsey Sparks permalink
    December 6, 2010 2:13 pm

    Next time, could you have a disclaimer at the top preparing me to cry? You may have ambush pukes, but ambush tears are completely preventable in this case. Only YOU can prevent them. Love you.

    • December 6, 2010 2:19 pm

      Seriously? I wrote this one IN chemo ON benadryl/steriods. I was more scared no one would be able to read it due to tangents and random mind wanderings. And I even made sure to stay away from emotional stuff, so I wouldn’t be that weird girl in the corner crying. I’m sorry (yet quite touched (in the good way)) that it affected you in that way. I will do my best to warn in the future. Love you, too!

      • Jim permalink
        December 7, 2010 7:52 am

        …”I was more scared no one would be able to read it due to tangents and random mind wanderings.”

        Are you kidding me? Your thoughts are much more focused and well put together compared to SQUIRREL*!!! Sorry, I mean compared to mine. 🙂

        *if you haven’t seen the movie “UP”, you might not get that joke.

      • December 7, 2010 1:31 pm

        Nice! I have seen UP. So, I understood AND appreciated your comment. I guess 4 unadulterated hours of being hooked to an IV and sitting in a comfy chair are conducive to my writing style. Now if only I could harness that for all the term papers I have due in the next couple of weeks.

    • Kristine Hull permalink
      December 6, 2010 4:35 pm

      Anymore, anything she writes makes me cry. It’s not always tears of sadness . . . sometimes its laughter, sometimes its because she is so freakin’ amazing. No disclaimers are necessary anymore.

  2. Julie Eesley permalink
    December 6, 2010 4:17 pm

    You are the most amazing writer. I don’t know if you’ve ever read Anne Lamott, but you remind me of her. This is probably the highest compliment I could offer, so even if you haven’t read her, feel gratified. 🙂

    • December 6, 2010 9:18 pm

      Thanks Julie! I haven’t ever read any Anne Lamott, but I did look her up after you said that. She has quite a few books. Any suggestions on where to start?

      • Julie Eesley permalink
        December 6, 2010 10:28 pm

        Oh you MUST read her stuff. I’ve only read her non-fiction, but that’ll keep you busy for a while. Just based on what I know about you from your writing, I think you will really resonate with her. Fabulous writer–smart and thoughtful, hilarious and neurotic. I always want to send her fan mail when I’m done with one of her books, but am afraid I’ll sound dumb. Let me know what you think if you pick up anything of hers, okay? Here’s a list:

        Operating Instructions: A Journal Of My Son’s First Year.
        Bird by Bird : Some Instructions on Writing and Life.
        Traveling Mercies : Some Thoughts on Faith.
        Plan B : Further Thoughts on Faith.
        Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith.

    • December 6, 2010 10:51 pm

      Thanks, I will definitely be checking her out!

  3. Kim permalink
    December 6, 2010 8:21 pm

    I had no idea and just saw the link on Facebook. My prayers are with you — and — as everyone has said — you are a great writer. Love your voice and structure!

    • December 6, 2010 9:17 pm

      Wow, that is some compliment. Aren’t you an English teacher these days??

      Thanks so much for your prayers and for commenting. It so good to hear from you. Hope all is well with you and your family!

      aja

      • Kim permalink
        December 8, 2010 8:10 pm

        I am an English teacher =-) I’m at Westside High School and teach English and Reading there.

  4. Jamie Sharp permalink
    December 6, 2010 9:34 pm

    I am so glad you got some sweatpants 🙂
    Very eloquently written

    • December 6, 2010 9:40 pm

      Thanks Jamie! I’m pretty stoked about them too, but not thrilled about the name. I am a horrible speller and kept trying to call them sweetpants, maybe I’ll go with it.

  5. Emily Thiex permalink
    December 7, 2010 12:26 pm

    Hey Aja! I somehow finally got this website on my cell phone! So I have been reading all the blogs trying to “catch up.” (still no computer at our house) Just wanted to send you a message letting you know I’m thinking about you! You are a strong woman and I love you! Take care!

    • December 7, 2010 1:33 pm

      Glad to hear you are on-line. Maybe you should think of blogging or something with all the changes coming for you. I see it is now FaceBook official. I suppose the personal text message was good, but there is something about FaceBook that makes things seem more real (maybe it was the photo). Congrats and thanks for your kind words!

  6. Angela permalink
    December 7, 2010 4:54 pm

    Please, please tell me these sweetpants are bedazzled somehow….!
    I’m also a cry-er, even at work. Dad thinks I’m crazy, then I drop your name, and he tells me to take a little break. How awesome is it that playing YOUR cancer card works for me too? Thanks!

    • December 8, 2010 9:21 am

      That is hilarious! Please get as many miles out of the card as you can, but be warned on occasion it does get rejected. I think I might be a little overdrawn.

  7. Linda permalink
    December 16, 2010 12:35 am

    How exciting that next week is your last chemo. Doing anything crazy? Maybe you can do like the commercial after he buys a washing machine to his friends at the laundry mat. Never to return. PS Kevin never stands in front of the microwave when it is running somehow that says I am taking a stand to never get Cancer again. (whatever it takes ).

    • December 16, 2010 1:24 pm

      We have talked about doing something, but my dad is a little bit of a thunder stealer what with having his hip replaced the same day. I also don’t usually feel the greatest for a few days, so we may celebrate the next Monday. My first in while without chemo.

      That microwave idea might actually be very good advise, since I’m pretty sure we have one of the first microwaves ever made. Maybe I can do all of my radiation at home…

Leave a comment