Skip to content

long time no see

October 26, 2010

I know it has been awhile since I last wrote you all.  This doesn’t just mean here, either.  I have become swamped with emails to return, notes to write, and blog postings to reflect-up (or just to laugh about as I search for the perfect come-backs or responses).  Unfortunately these all have to come second to homework on those precious few days when I feel what I think I remember as normal (at this point I’m not sure I even know what that feels like).  But since me feeling like a toxin-stuffed pinata is probably not enough of an excuse, here are a few more that I have come up with.  Feel free to accept which ever one you feel is the most adequate:

1. Ambush pukes:2, Aja: 0.  Enough said.

2. As pointed out today by my chemo buddy Kristine, I have hit the half-way point of chemo sessions!  Eight down.  Eight to go.

3. Taxol is a drug that compounds its effects with each dose.  This Saturday I felt as though I had been hit by a golf cart, next Saturday it will be a Prias, but by the end of my 12 weeks of taxol it should be somewhere between a Lumina van (such as the majestic ’94 model seen above) and a steamroller.  Still wouldn’t trade it for anything with the first Adriamycin cocktail.

4. I have still been spending a lot of time monitoring the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure stats.  We still have until the end of the month (another week) to get all of the donations in and thanks to a little G-L-O-R-I-A! (yes, a thinly veiled hinted to the cause of the celebration, not just a plug for the Van Morrison band Them) we are only $15.00 away from our $2000.00 goal!!!  We have done 10 times that amount in hours, so seven days should be a cinch.

5. I won a small award and a scholarship from the Public Health Association of Nebraska.  While this has not taken much of my time (in fact I was too ill to go to all of the associations events this year in Kearney), I figured it was a good way to casualy work it into a post without sounding like I am tooting my own horn too loudly.

6. You may or may not have the ablity to take note (I’m not sure if wordpress time stamps these posts), but we are looking at another sleepless night.  I think I may have blinked once since starting this post at about 1:00 am.  It’s great for productivity on the day of chemo and maybe even tomorrow, but it soon leads to a dragging week were all my energies are expended with one flight of stairs. 

This should shine a little more light on why I have been absent from here for so long.  I hope you all have just been patiently and calmly awaiting another update, not biting your nails sitting on the edge of your seat thinking the worse of our time away from each other.  It’s all good, I’m feeling great with the new round of drugs and only slightly worse for wear.  Thank you for all of your continued thoughts and prayers.  We’ve hit a kind of plateu for information and changes with treatment, but I still need all of the positive energy you can spare sent my way.

Have a happy and healthy tomorrow,

aja

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Ryan permalink
    October 27, 2010 7:42 am

    Concerning 5), I heard that there was a sweet certificate for that award…

    • October 27, 2010 10:36 am

      There is, maybe I should post a picture of your handy work.

      • Donna permalink
        October 27, 2010 7:33 pm

        We would all love to see it!

  2. Natalie Origanti permalink
    October 27, 2010 8:12 am

    I was really hoping you would be able to sleep better last night….grrrr….

    • October 27, 2010 10:37 am

      No, this was posted late Monday early Tuesday. Last night I slept like a freaking log. No complaints there.

  3. Elizabeth Lefler permalink
    October 27, 2010 9:02 am

    Concerning 3), I drive a Prius and I’m coming in town next weekend…

    • October 27, 2010 10:38 am

      Just make sure to keep your eyes peeled. I’m not sure I want to test out my theory.

  4. Jennifer Gitt permalink
    October 27, 2010 9:59 am

    Concerning 3), we are looking to trade in the rusty Taurus for a crossover so we could help out by week 10 or 11, you know, ramp up for that Lumina…

  5. October 27, 2010 10:39 am

    Hmm… like a training program so I’ll be prepared for the actual affects. It might just work! 🙂

Leave a comment