Skip to content

meet vickie

August 31, 2010
I am beat.

Once again, chemo did it’s number on me.  Instead of a bad day 1 and day 3, I ended up with a bad day 1, 4, 5, and 6.  Which was a little disconcerting.  I thought I had this thing figured out.  I had planned my life around it.  Then just when I thought I was totally prepared, BAM!  It hits you on day 4 instead of day 3.  I had been told that you could look at your first chemo session as the rule for the rest of the chemo sessions, but evidently my reaction to chemo doesn’t want to be put in a neat little box like that.  My doctor took pity on me and gave me pain killers for when the neutralis shot kicks in with aches and all over pain, but I am super leery of taking them with a stomach already laying in wait for the perfect moment to turn on me (treasonous jerk).  Luckily with it having been a weekend and the beginning of the semester, I just laid around and whined to Ryan while he did my bidding.  (When this is all over, the man deserves a medal.)  

I suppose you are all wondering about the hair appointment.  Well, it turns out that I don’t look half bad as a baldy.  I have a very smooth head, no bumps, dips, or mysterious scars.  The only real obvious draw back is that I look like an old woman.  Evidently all of my roots are gray,or at least a lot more than I had thought.  

When I went to get my hair shaved (day 17) it still really wasn’t falling out the way that I had been told that it would, with piles on the pillow and clumps in the drain, but I couldn’t handle the dread and anxiety that came each time I took my hair out of the pony tail.  I needed it gone.  So Beki shaved my head on Friday morning, with my loving and kind word speak husband sitting there with me.  She didn’t let me watch the process, which I was thankful for, so I spent the time staring at Ryan and waiting for his reaction.  His manner and actions stayed even and the smile never left his face, even as my own strength cracked under the weight of all that was happening.  When Beki said, “see she still looks pretty”, Ryan responded without pause saying, “she always has”.  In that moment, I looked across at the man, that just eleven months ago, I had chosen to have and to hold until death do us part and knew I would never make a better decision in my life.  Let’s hope that somewhere between the nausea, treatments, crankiness, lethargy and weird side affects he comes to the same conclusion.  I love you, my be-luv-id.  

You will be happy to know (or maybe not), that my hair did start falling out (day 19) and has been a pain in the butt ever since.  It constantly feels like I just got my hair cut and need to go home and change shirts and take a shower.  I itch all over!  But with the bad comes the good.  It was actually quite reassuring to see it falling out.  There are really no indicators or cancer tests to know for sure that what we are doing is working, so having things like this happen gives me a little more faith in the medicines they have been giving me.  It seems to be doing what it is supposed to do.  

And for those of you who are wondering about the title of this post, you should know that I have decided to name my wig.  This little piece of advice came from more than one person who had been through this process and I thought, what a wonderful idea!  From the moment I thought about it, I knew that my wig would be named Vickie.  I don’t know why but even before I meet her this name was written in the stars.  Then when Beki was having me try on wigs, she made the comment that the one I chose looked quite posh, and it dawned on me!  Posh – Posh Spice – Victoria Beckham – VICKIE!  You don’t have to believe in fate to know that this was meant to be.  

Vickie and Aja chillin' and getting to know one another.

Poor Izzy hasn't really known what do to on the days I feel crappy.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 4:37 pm

    And in case you are still reading and you wanted to see me as a baldy, I felt like this was the most appropriate way to come out. Enjoy.

    http://theuglydance.com/?v=rywwrtilhz

  2. Aunt Debbie, SD permalink
    August 31, 2010 5:03 pm

    Think about you often Aja. Love the dance, and welcome to the family Vickie.

  3. Steve Roberts permalink
    August 31, 2010 11:17 pm

    This post reminded me how I can be even more intentional in praying for you – and of the privilege I have to be able to do that. But I gotta ask – not to be outdone, has Ryan started referring to his chiseled abs as “Becks”?

    You rock.

  4. Ryan permalink
    September 1, 2010 7:45 am

    “Becks” and I love you and “Vickie” more each day. You’re stronger than you’ll ever know.

  5. Natalie Origanti permalink
    September 1, 2010 7:55 am

    I feel that Vickie is a very appropriate name. Has Vickie met Betty yet?

  6. Linda permalink
    September 1, 2010 9:50 am

    Love the ugly dance!! I thought we are suppose to cheer you up instead we laughed and played with the ugly dancer last night love the moves. Kevin thanks you for helping him find some new moves for the wedding. I pray your counts come up for the weekend and you are feeling great. I heard your walls turned out good are they mustard or green?

  7. Elizabeth Lefler permalink
    September 1, 2010 10:02 am

    Vickie looks great, and I like the nameless scarf in the top photo as well. You are pretty amazing, Aj.

  8. Michaela Kneip permalink
    September 1, 2010 10:36 pm

    hey there sexy head :)….ps that dance video is borderline Asian cartoon style and after watching it for a couple seconds I thought I was about to have a stroke

    but again…you got a nice head…very demi moore G.I jane style

  9. Angela permalink
    September 3, 2010 9:44 am

    you are incredibly inspiring

  10. Amanda permalink
    September 3, 2010 1:16 pm

    I know you wanted to shave your head when you saw how cool I was bald, but you didn’t have to go to such lengths to make an excuse! =)
    You are beautiful, bald or otherwise. nothing is going to change that.
    plus, now you can wear a bandana and yell “Arrrg” at people!

  11. Tara Heil permalink
    September 8, 2010 7:46 am

    Way to go, Aja. Another step in this journey and you manage to do it with both grace and humor. I love the ugly dance (although misnamed in your case) and Vickie. And it sounds like Ryan is definitely a keeper. Hope the chemo side effects level off and become a little more predictable for you.

  12. Barb Diehl permalink
    September 15, 2010 10:53 pm

    I think its good you had your head shaved, my hair started falling out around the 3rd week or so, maybe a little longer, but I had horrible headaches, just horrible and finally someone said “shave your head” and so during a snow storm my husband walked to Walgreens, bought a shaver and came home and shaved my head. The headaches went away. When I woke up the next day, he had shaved his head even tho I told him not to, he said he thought he should do something so that we looked the same. He wore a bandanna to try to disguise it but I was on to his tricks! Then the next thing I noticed, “Barbie” tattooed at the base of his neck 🙂 But I think the chemo makes our scalps hurt and the weight of the hair combined amount to horrible headaches. If anyone had told me that, I would have done it sooner.

    • September 22, 2010 12:24 am

      Thank you so much for sharing the story! Your husband sounds like a great supporter!

      I had told Ryan not to as well, sort of for selfish reason (if anything were to happen and Ryan lost his hair, I just can’t promise that kind of solidarity – I’ve been through this once). But I think I feel in love with him in a whole new way when I got home and he had shaved his head about down to the scalp!

      I agree about shaving though. I was starting to get bad headaches and the neulasta side effects to my scalp seems to be worse with a full head of hair. Definitily suggest it, plus it cuts way down on getting ready time!

      Sidenote: maybe he’s a little competitve too. I had been trying to syke myself up for getting it shaved and said that this would be the first time in my life that I would have the shortest hair. He shaved his to an18th of an inch, mine was shaved to a 16th. Hmmm…

Leave a comment